Changing the "open scene" menu

hi.

Is it possible to modify Maya so that the open scene dialogue is

a. presented in 'details' view
b. sorted by modification date
c. bigger ?

I imagine this is more of a windows affair than a Maya thing, but I'd be pleased to find out.

cheers...


"I want it RENDERED, not COMPED" - Sir Issac Newton, circa 1972.

Yeah I'd like to too.. I cna't iamgine how much time I waster per day clicking around in open dialogs.. there may be some widget for windows that does this but I doubt that you can control it through Maya.

g

when i do an open scene command, script editor reports 'projectViewer Open' as the command..

in the MEL listing we have projFileViewer which has amongst others...

-dm/displayMode int -Set the display mode. Default is icon. Mode 0 displays as text. Mode 1 displays as large icons. Mode 2 displays as small icons.
-sb/sortBy string Specifies how the entry should be sorted. Possible values are "name", "date", and "size".

projectViewer.MEL is in scriptsothers... sets up variables for save/opensaveAs and directory etc... and calls fileBrowser...

just had a quick look in that, and its got commented out lines thus :

	menuItem -l "as Text" -rb false -c ("pv\_setDisplayMode 10") textListItem;
	menuItem -l "as Icons" -rb false -c ("pv\_setDisplayMode 0") iconListItem;

// menuItem -l "as Small Icons" -rb false -c ("pv_setDisplayMode 1") smallIconListItem;
// menuItem -l "as References" -rb false -c ("pv_setDisplayMode 2") referencedListItem;

seems like we can hard wire the sorting too.

I couldnt get a chance to go any further... gotta get home... have a look if ya like..

cheeeers

That's cool I didn't think to look.. It would be ncie if it were as easy to customize other program to think look this way but I'll settle for hacking a MEL script.

g

To always sort by date instead of name:

  1. Open a folder in Windows. (Double click My Computer, then double click your C drive).

  2. Select View->Details

  3. Click the Modified column (once for old to new, twice for new to old).

  4. Select Tools->Folder Options

  5. Click on the "View" tab

  6. Press the "Like Current Folder" button.

  7. Press "Yes" on the message box.

Now your list will be sorted by date instead of by name. This also has the side effect of changing the default view, layout and sorting for every folder you open.

To make it bigger, just make it bigger. maya remembers window sizes. that may only work with Maya 4, though...

Not sure how to default to details view in the open dialog, however. i leave that for someone else to come up with.

Robin
robin@uberware.net