When I try to export a model(polygon mesh) out of my scene by selecting it then clicking file-export-model I get an invalid objedt error.
Any help welcome.
Laurence
When I try to export a model(polygon mesh) out of my scene by selecting it then clicking file-export-model I get an invalid objedt error.
Any help welcome.
Laurence
This is because in XSI terms a model is not an object. A model is a null in wich you will place a hierarchy. It is used to export entire hierarchies and load them into another scene. For example, if you import a model as a reference model, you can make changes to the original model in the original scene, reexport it and update it in the new scene. Also, models allow to use the same name for different objects.
If you want to export individual objects, use File > dotXSI or IGES, or use the Olivier Ozoux script on XSI Net (obj import/export).
Hope this helps
Salutations - Cheers
Bernard Lebel
Thanks that helped.
I'm modelling a car and wnated to export the shell as a polygon mesh, and using dotXSI is fine. How would I export the hole car to another scene to animate it.
Thanks
Laurence laurenceg@bdrm.fsnet.co.uk
You mean: into another software?
Your options are quite limited.
1- Export as dotXSI and hope that your other software has dotXSI import capabilities.
2- If your objects are nurbs, export using the IGES format.
3- Use The Export Obj script on XSI Net http://www.softimage.com/xsinet/displaydet...mp;netview=true
Otherwise, if you have access to Softimage|3D, you can load your XSI scene into SI3D and export the format you want.
Hope this helps
Salutations - Cheers
Bernard Lebel
I new to XSI and I just ment export to another scene in XSI.
Thanks
Laurence
Then it's very simple.
1- You can merge your scene with a second one. Open the second scene, do File > Merge, and select the previous scene. Save it under a new name if you want to keep intact the second scene. Tip: if you want to avoid naming problems, put all your objects in the first scene under a model (see below).
2- You can export in dotXSI and import it into XSI.
3- In the case you don't want to have everything from the first scene in a second scene, you can open the first scene, and put all you want to export under a model. Select everything you want to export, and do MCP > Edit > Model > New. Choose a name, and check Internal storage. Then select the model in branch mode, and do File > Export > Model. Choose a name and a location. In the second scene, do File > Import > Model, and select the file you just created.
4- Finally, models allow you to create a scene, then export some elements to a second scene, then keeping modifying the first scene and reexporting, then updating the changes in the seconde scene. You will do this by selecting your objects, do MCP > Edit > Model > New. Choose a name and check External storage. Then export the model (File